365

365 days.

One whole year.

This journey for me has often been one day or even one hour or minute a time. I have had some really really rough, heartbreaking, just have to crawl into bed and pull the covers over my head days. I have also had some amazingly beautiful, wonderful and full of gratitude and childlike wonder days. I have reflected on the days like these ones as they would have often been the ones where alcohol would have been involved. It’s amazing really, to think that on those horrible days I would have drank (heavily) to numb it, or hide from turmoil. On the fantastic days I would have been drinking in celebration and that would in turn have led to the day turning out in the end to be not so great. Or would have been negated by the guilt and remorse and confusion the next morning (not to mention the hangover).

I can’t even begin to express my thanks and gratitude to the online community here and on instagram. I honestly don’t know how I would have made it this far, or even through the first three months honestly. For the support and encouragement and compassion from all of you beautiful souls out there, thank you, thank you, thank you from the bottom of my heart. Truly, honestly and deeply. Thank you for writing about your own journeys, and for your raw honesty. Thank you for sharing your struggles and your triumphs and showing me and others that we are not alone.

❀

Donna

39 comments

  1. feelingmywaybackintolife · October 25, 2017

    Dear Donna,

    Congratulations on your 365 days! That is awsome! And doing booze and cigarettes together is double awesome! I am happy for you. πŸ™‚ ❀
    Hope you did get yourself the very best present you could find? Well, possibly the best present is sobriety in itself. I think it is. And then there is the one in the so maniest times where I actually think I am (we are?) allowed to indulge in something. Did you?
    xx, Feeling

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · October 25, 2017

      Thank you!
      I haven’t indulged in anything yet, but I was planning on it, maybe picking up something nice for myself on the weekend. I’m going to babysit my little grandson tonight so that right there is a great big awesome treat in itself πŸ™‚ (And so is sobriety πŸ˜‰ )
      Have a super wonderful day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. saoirsek · October 25, 2017

    Wonderful wonderful wonderful…sending love S x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Four Stars · October 25, 2017

    Happy YEAR sober birthday!! You, my dear, are a frickin’ rockstar! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. soberinvegas · October 25, 2017

    so excited for you! ❀ ❀ hugs upon hugs πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bluebird487 · October 25, 2017

    So happy for you – congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. winoholicblog · October 25, 2017

    Congratulations, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ainsobriety · October 25, 2017

    Congratulations! A year is a special thing.
    Here’s to more sober days!
    Anne

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Finding a Sober Miracle · October 25, 2017

    It’s been a privilege to travel with you on your sober journey, Donna. You rock. πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Kelly- A Better Path · October 26, 2017

    Congratulations! One year is such a wonderful accomplishment. I wish you continued peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Elizabeth · October 26, 2017

    Yes! Congratulations and hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. BNW · October 26, 2017

    Congratulations!!!! Sending you so much love, sister! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Paul S · October 26, 2017

    Congrats!!! Woohoo! One year! I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · October 27, 2017

      Thank you Paul! I can’t believe how fast the past 9 months went by! (The first three did NOT haha).

      Like

  13. morethanmyshare · October 26, 2017

    Hello! Congratulations! I haven’t even read your post yet, but i just signed on for the first time in a while and your post was at the top! I am so happy for you and proud of you! and super excited for you! ok i’m going to go read it now

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · October 27, 2017

      You’re so cute!! 😁 thank you so much, this comment made me giggle with happiness! Hope you have a great weekend! ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Hurrahforcoffee · October 27, 2017

    Well done my love! You rock. xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  15. MilesAwayGrrrl · October 28, 2017

    Huge congratulations!!! Such a massive massive milestone! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Untipsyteacher · October 28, 2017

    YAY!!! So happy I got to walk with you on this journey we call life!
    Much Love,
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  17. suburbanbetty · October 29, 2017

    Congratulations!! The next year will be even better!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. me-fixing-me · November 2, 2017

    awesome news, great work, so very well done πŸŒ·πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΈπŸŒΌπŸŒ»πŸ’πŸŒŸ

    Liked by 1 person

  19. MeditationAndNoBooze · November 11, 2017

    Congrats!! And thanks for sharing your journey!
    πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment