You know what I don’t miss?

I’m at 260 days, and that seems insane to me. I never thought I’d make it past day 3, and then couldn’t believe that I made it to 20 days, and wow, 100 days came and went and I kept on going and I was so, so, sooo proud of myself. It hasn’t been easy, but it has gotten easier, especially now that I am staying active and getting nature therapy as often as I can and pretty much avoiding the man who’s house I live in. The more I’m enjoying life and having fun and doing my own thing, the more angry he gets towards me (and why wouldn’t he?). Lately I’ve been reminiscing about how easy it was to escape the feelings of hurt and frustration and sadness by drinking myself into blackouts. I don’t feel like I’m romanticizing what it was like when I was drinking, but I do have to keep reminding myself about the things that I DON’T miss about it. I do not ever want to jump down that rabbit hole again. I can’t.

  • Damage control the morning after. That sinking feeling when I woke up “oh god, who did I text? or call? Did I go on facebook? How do I check for comments I made on instagram?”
  • Hiding it. Hiding it all the time – wine bottles stashed around the house. Empty wine bottles in the trunk of my car so that I could drop them off in recycling bins in other places. Wine in to-go cups. Wine in travel mugs. Wine in my water bottle while I was running on the treadmill (seriously!!)!
  • how embarrassed I was on recycling day, and trying to hide the bottles under the other recycling, or just buy boxes of wine but then I’d also have bottles too because…
  • The PLANNING involved, especially if there was an activity or event. How much can I drink before we leave to get a buzz going and feel comfortable? Got to make sure that there is a bottle of wine or two for when I get home!
  • The hangovers and wasted weekends
  • The being late and feeling like shit at work Fridays (and other days of the week  most of the time too)
  • Lying to my kids “I’m just tired. I’m just tired and I didn’t eat much today, so that ONE GLASS of wine hit me really hard”
  • Ordering a glass of wine AS SOON as I got to a meeting place/ restaurant etc with my friends because I didn’t want them to smell it on my breath that I had already been drinking
  • Blackouts. The embarrassing stories I heard and the ones that I worried about that I didn’t hear. Not even wanting to ask, because I dreaded the answer so much about what I had done the night before
  • The things and events and moments that I missed. The ones that I don’t remember.
  • Not BEING THERE for friends, family if/when they needed me.
  • Being so wrapped up in myself and making it all about me. *I* had a tough day. *I* just needed to relax. *I* deserved to let loose…
  • All of the excuses! All of the excuses…. 😦

Yikes, when I read that list over I just cringe. It almost feels like I’m writing about a completely different person 😦

26 comments

  1. Newchapter · July 13

    So many of these apply to me too. Well done on your 260 days:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your day 260! That’s really cool.
    And yes, I don’t miss that either, my bowels turn into a knot when reading all these so familliar things. I had forgotten about orderen a drink quickly so ‘they won’t smell.’ 😦
    It’s a good list. Those are things not to forget. Thank you. 🙂
    xx, Feeling

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ainsobriety · July 13

    Me too. It used to be about lying.
    Now it’s about honesty.
    So much better.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elizabeth · July 13

    You ARE writing about a completely different person. Congratulations on 260! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like your list. And ditto to most of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. moderndaygrl · July 14

    Ditto to your list, and great job lady! Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. runawayhappy · July 14

    I could have written this same list. Replace wine with vodka and done. Thank you for sharing! You are doing amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh vodka was also mine too! Vodka was the top up at the end of the night if the bottle of wine wasn’t enough. Vodka was my drink when I went to the bar or lounge (so much easier to drink that quickly in front of people or order doubles without anyone knowing! Thank you for your words of encouragement and for visiting!

      Like

  8. So true about being a completely different person! When I read a few of my earliest blogs, I have no idea who that person is. I feel for her, and I want to comfort her, but really, WHO IS SHE? You make a great case for how alcohol hijacks your entire being, not just your body. And it stays with you (or at least the experiences do) long after the last sip.
    I am so happy you are part of my sober journey. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  9. saoirsek · July 14

    Well done and thanks for the reminder x

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Untipsyteacher · July 14

    Yes, I sure understand that list, as the other people have said.
    I like the not drinking me a lot more!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Dewy · July 14

    You’re getting there. You’ve come so far. I remembered the earlier posts when you were fighting it constantly . Your fights seem less now and I’m glad.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh boy. I don’t miss that either. Seems like a long time ago now so it is good to remember!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is good to remember I think! Especially for me when I start to feel safer the longer it has been.

      Like

  13. talesfrommyliver · July 16

    Congratulations on 260! That’s amazing! I cringed when I read your list as well because that was TOTALLY me before I got sober. This sober life is truly a gift.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

