Break

I have been meaning to get in here to post but I’ve been swamped at work since I got back from my trip. I had an AMAZING time in the Yukon & Alaska. Amazing. It was so peaceful, scenic, beautiful… I just felt so… peaceful, energized and happy.

I did a LOT of driving and exploring and sightseeing. I took about 800 pictures!! I went for a horseback ride which was really nice (mainly really nice because the horses sense grizzly bears and won’t go near them and can run away from bears faster than I can!)

The food is incredible. Every single place I ate at, the food was amazing. Maybe it was all of that fresh air that made everything taste better, or maybe it was the fact that they have lots of time to try new recipes over the winter months. Or maybe they are all just extremely talented chefs and bakers up there.

And I didn’t drink. I was worried about it heading into the trip. Airports and airplanes have always been drinking places for me. I’ve always bought several bottles of wine to have in my hotel room. I knew (or thought anyway!) that I was going to be with a group of drinkers for the majority of the time there.

The BEST part? I found this amazing store in Whitehorse called Riverside Grocery that was fully stocked with the best selection of non-alcoholic drinks I have ever seen ANYWHERE! Actually they had the best selection of a lot of different things – honey, teas, chocolate, you name it. Fabulous. I spent a lot of money there but it was totally completely worth it.

Going out with the group for dinners caused me a little anxiety beforehand but it was fine! No one even really noticed. The last night, everyone went to a bar to socialize and I decided to go for a little while. I caught the waitress as I sat down and asked her if she could get the bartender to make me a non alcoholic drink that looked fun and wouldn’t stand out as being N/A. She made a virgin mojito. I know that some people who have quit drinking don’t like ordering those kinds of drinks (and I had my own close call a few months ago), but I just feel like I’m not out of place when I have one in my hand. Not that I AM even out of place, because no one really notices when you’re not drinking, unless it’s water. Realistically it’s their issue if they’re going to make an issue out of you not drinking, right? Anyway… I actually had the best time. I had so much fun and we had so many laughs and I stayed as late as everyone else, which is something that I haven’t even done here in months.

232 days. No booze, no smokes. The other day I looked at it and thought “holy crow, I only have like 130 days or so to get to a year… wow…”

24 comments

  1. saoirsek · June 14

    Fab photosπŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Mark David Goodson · June 14

    Looks incredible! And a non-alcoholic assortment of drinks to boot? Epic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was absolutely stunning! Breathtaking. Seriously Mark I was pulling over every 5 minutes on the highways to take pictures.
      That grocery store was GREAT! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. talesfrommyliver · June 14

    This is awesome! Such an inspiration. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dewy · June 15

    Sounded like you had an awesome time . Welcome back .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Grace · June 15

    232 days is so amazing, well done you and thank you for sharing your sober journey x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mikeykjr · June 15

    Visiting Alaska is on my bucket list. The pictures are fantastic! I’m glad to had a great time. Anxiety is normal when out with friends who drink; we all still want to be inclusive, yet not have the spot light on us the whole time (with a glass of water). You handled your time well and stayed sober. Great job and a great adventure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you thank you Mikey. I appreciate your words. I couldn’t believe how reasonable it was to fly there for me, I have always heard (or maybe just assumed!) that it would be really expensive. Not sure if it was the timing (late May/early June) as it seemed to be right in between busy touristy seasons, but that was perfect for me and the weather was great!

      Liked by 1 person

      • mikeykjr · June 16

        I believe “things happen for a reason”. Perhaps it was a reward for all the hard work you put forth in your life recently? You definitely needed some relaxation. You have worked very hard for where you are today! Congrats!

        Liked by 1 person

      • That is a lovely way to look at it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Untipsyteacher · June 15

    I am SO glad you had a wonderful trip!!
    And SO glad you stayed sober!!
    Big Hugs!
    xo
    wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  8. soberinvegas · June 15

    looks so beautiful! and yay for a grocery store with lots of amazing nonalcoholic treats! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. suburbanbetty · June 17

    Amazing pics!! Gorgeous. And good for you on your sober vaca. Sober vacations are the best. You remember everything, you get up early or sleep late only as you choose, you can go anywhere you want, you can eat more (no empty alcohol calories) and you get to remember it all. Let those fuckers swill their disgusting booze, I’ll take a fancy tea and biggo hunk of chocolate.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 2bshameless · June 23

    you should be super proud of yourself! and that trip looks awesome and I wish we had a grocery store like that lol I’m not abstaining but it still sounds uber cool

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I wish I had a grocery store like that where I live! I would spend all my time and money in there lol. Hope you have an awesome weekend, thank you for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

