woop!

I made it to 6 months! It was actually a couple of days ago, but I’ve been having a hard time lately so I took some time to myself to go hiking and exploring and get my hair done and take myself out for lunch etc. I took a couple of vacation days to do this but it was so, sooo worth it.

I’ve still been getting up a little earlier in the morning so that I can squeeze in some fasted cardio & work up a sweat for a short 2- minutes. I’ve also jumped on the apple cider vinegar bandwagon – 3 tsps in the morning with some lemon water. It tastes terrible. The first time I had it I was taken back to a time when I was at a friends house and she offered me some leftover wine she had (she’d had it for a while because it was completely vinegary but I drank it anyway because she didn’t have anything else in the house. eep). I have also been drinking Golden Chai tea in the evening with tumeric. I’ve read so many health benefits to both of those and I will say that my knee, which used to get very painful when I was running before has barely beenΒ  bugging me lately. I have also had a lot more energy. My sugar cravings though – still remain super high. I have been experimenting with all sorts of “healthy” recipes (detoxinista.com has some great alternatives to the unhealthy-but-so-sweet-oh-my-god-I-want-to-devour-the-entire-pkg things that I daydream about).

I’m going out to bingo tonight with a couple of girlfriends. There’s one that makes such a big deal about me not drinking – she has to mention it every single *&%$’ing time we’re out and make a big deal about it as everyone else drinks their wine or other beverages. Seriously, just drink your wine and stop saying “Oh, does this bother you?!” before every sip. I think that’s what I find frustrating – that I’m just trying to navigate being around other people in social settings and just trying to enjoy myself, relax and have fun and there always seems to be one person who focuses on the fact that I’m not drinking and makes a big deal about it. Oh well, off I go πŸ™‚

31 comments

  1. saoirsek · April 27

    Yay!! Excellent work. Those people will bother you less and less as time goes by. Enjoy your evening S x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dewy · April 27

    Yippee Doo you’re doing great and a real inspiration . I’ve been letting myself go getting up late and no exercise. Practically dragged myself out of bed today .

    Liked by 2 people

  3. bluebird487 · April 27

    So happy for you – quite an achievement! ACV plus lemon water is super acidic. I find drinking lots of plain water or rinsing helps if your teeth get sensitive. Haters gonna hate but you’ve got 6 months of clear thinking and a healthy outlook – that trumps middle aged peer pressure every time! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · April 27

      Bluebird, I was wondering about the acidity level of that combo and how good it actually was. Maybe I’ll just stick to acv by itself. I definitely have to work on my water intake!! I’m bad for not drinking enough water

      Like

  4. Elizabeth · April 27

    You’re freaking awesome! Just keep going- keep doing what you are doing. It’s working and your sharing gives the rest of us amazing and total inspiration!! Happy 6 months and congrats! ❀

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Untipsyteacher · April 27

    Happy 6 Months!!
    You really are doing so well!
    Guess What?
    We are going to Canada in June!!
    Going to Montreal!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 3 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · April 27

      Thank you! And really? I love Montreal! They are so bilingual there – anywhere or any store you go to they will say “bonjour hello” – answer hello & they talk English 😊 it is a beautiful city, the architecture is beautiful. How long are you going for?

      Like

  6. tiredoftreadingwater · April 28

    Congratulations, that’s awesome! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Hurrahforcoffee · April 28

    Well done on 6 months my love. Maybe if that one lady keeps on at you for not drinking try syaing: “why does this bother you so much?” that should shut her up. It’s bloody exhausting trying to deal with your own stuff and the having to worry about the drinkers. Why oh why are you drinking vinegar in the morning, are there magical benefits?

    Liked by 3 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · April 28

      I think I need to say something or put my foot down with her. It is exhausting, happened again last night and just ruins for me what should be a really fun night out. Grr. Apple cider vinegar purported benefits: helps with night time leg cramps, aids weight loss (hmm we’ll see…), helps regulate sugar levels or control blood sugar, boosts indigestion, and helps lower cholesterol.
      Happy Friday!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hurrahforcoffee · April 28

        Thanks honey. Yes ask her directly excatly what her issue is. This will make her back off I think:)

        Liked by 1 person

  8. NoWineImFine · April 28

    Way to go that’s wonderful!πŸ€ΎπŸ½β€β™€οΈπŸ€ΈπŸ½β€β™€οΈπŸ€ΎπŸ½β€β™€οΈπŸ€ΈπŸ½β€β™€οΈ

    Liked by 1 person

  9. AddictedSophie · April 29

    Woow congratulations πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. talesfrommyliver · April 29

    Congratulations on 6 months! That is so wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Paul S · April 29

    congrats on 6 months!! So happy for you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Merry B. Sober · May 1

    Woo Hoo… milestone! This post energized me…and got me thinking about what I will do for myself on June 7th (my 6 months!)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. furtheron · May 2

    Well done on 6 months – I mean 6 hours was a miracle for me at one point!

    I have a really good old friend/ex-colleague who still goes on about it. He’s organised a reunion in a pub in a few weeks time. If I’m fine, I’ll go, if not I won’t. If I feel tempted I’m pretty sure I’ll walk out. He’s been on email apologising etc. – it was a vote thing so it is not his fault and I’m fine with it but … he has to keep going on about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks furtheron! I hear ya on the 6 hrs! Hooray us! You have a great attitude about the reunion, and I’ve found that I do ok if I always have an escape plan (ie take my own car or have no qualms about leaving early) It’s so weird how there are some people who just fixate on it and make such a big deal about it continuously. It happened again the other night with my friend and turned into one of those “well we love to drink but we’re not *that* bad conversations between them. Ugh, part of me wonders if they’re secretly worried that they are, or on their way there.
      Have a great day! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      • furtheron · May 2

        My best, and often only, advice to others is “Always have an escape plan. Always press the escape plan activate button if you feel in anyway uncomfortable”.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely agree, and do it guilt free

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

