Beverage fridge

I think I can honestly say that this is a little part of the reason I’ve been able to stay sober – a full selection of cold assorted drinks readily at hand. My “tea cupboard” is pretty similar – large assortment of teas, coffees and hot chocolates. You should see the expression on guests faces when I fling the door open on that little fridge. “Can’t offer you a beer, but would you like a coconut water? Non alcoholic ginger beer? Flavoured water? A sparkling fruit drink?” Hahaha. Woouulllddd ya prefer something hot instead?! 😁

18 comments

  1. Untipsyteacher · March 26

    NICE!!
    That really does help, I agree!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carrie Ann · March 26

    I am so inspired. I have done a similar thing though not near to this scale. I admire your commitment!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · March 26

      Thanks Carrie Ann, I have fun trying out different ones I find. My fave aisle in the grocery store for finding neat ones is the health food/ organic section. I’ve never been a big pop drinker but I do like root beer and ginger ale. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dewy · March 27

    Hehehe wouldn’t mind one of those thanks 😊 I don’t have much in ours . It’s boring water for me, usually hot water. Hubby sometimes buy a 6 packs of ale.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. saoirsek · March 27

    What an absolutely brilliant idea. My treat is Pelligrino or a nice elderflower cordial. If I go to gigs, it’s pints of water, can’t do soft drinks all night!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · March 27

      Thanks! I have big bottles of Pelligrino in the main fridge. I drink lots of water or tea, but there’s just times that I am craving a DRINK or feeling sorry for myself when my boyfriend is having a beer or whatever and having a selection like this to choose from makes me feel a little less left out 🙂
      Now if only bars or restaurants would have a good selection of stuff other than the normal soft drinks! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  5. SWMum · March 27

    Looks delicious! Your guests are spoilt!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. moderndaygirlsober · March 27

    Yum those drinks all look so yummy😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · March 27

      They are, and only a small selection of the many different ones I’ve tried over the last 5+ months lol. I’m not a big pop drinker thus the lack of pepsi etc.

      Liked by 1 person

      • moderndaygirlsober · March 27

        Pop is really bad for you anyway so you’re not missing out. Coconut water is seriously my favourite!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. MrsMac · March 27

    Love it! I too like trying lots of new drinks. I like having them on an evening when I’m chilling out or chatting with hubby as a sober treat. Just cos they’re non alcoholic doesn’t mean they have to be boring eh!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I Quit Wineing · March 27

    I also have a lot of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. I have stopped buying the soft drinks because I found I was getting too dependent on them. Especially non alcoholic beer. I know it sounds wdird but I had the same kind of dependency on having a bottle of non alcoholic beer every night as I did wine. Plus the weight wasnt budging so I thought I woild knock it on the head. Coconut water is my go to drink now. Low in calories and delicious 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · March 27

      I rarely drink soft drinks (other than an occasional ginger ale or root beer) the Real Brew ginger ale in there I love – natural ingredients and nice gingery taste. I find a lot of my drinks in the health food aisle actually haha. I haven’t tried the n/a beer since I quit drinking- I’m afraid to quite honestly, not sure if I want to test myself

      Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · March 27

      Ps I love coconut water!! It feels so hydrating 😊

      Like

  9. Paul S · March 28

    I’m boring – I have sparkling water mostly. No pop or anything else (once in a while, though). I know that when I first got sober, coffee was my replacement. I had 10-12 large coffees a day. Now, I still love my coffee, but only a few a day. We all have our thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · March 28

      That’s so true eh – everyone is different! I’m finding that it’s really changing for me as well. At first I couldn’t get enough tart lemony drinks or strong ginger ales, and now it’s mostly water or tea for me. I live in a house with a well stocked liquor cupboard so this (n/a beverage selection) has been a lifesaver for me sometimes. If I’m having a rough day and my mind starts turning to those “I NEED a drink” thoughts, I try to divert it to something else (ie “I would love to have a kahlua and milk when I get home” –> “hey, there’s that maple & milk smooth in the fridge, I wonder what that tastes like? I should have that”. Spiced rum replaced with spicy ginger drink, coolers replaced with those organic fruit spritzers etc.
      Those days are getting less and less frequent at 5 months sober, thank goodness.
      And coffee…mmm… love coffee more now than I ever did!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

