the notebook

I am sitting in my office FREEZING. Geez I have never been as cold as I’ve been since I quit smoking and drinking. I used to worry about spontaneous combustion for goodness sake! Seriously! My skin was always on fire and it didn’t matter if it was the dead of winter here on the Canadian prairies (which can be -30 degree Celsius fyi and yes that’s a minus in front of that 30) or just a normal day. I was always so hot that the thought of going through menopause in a few years put me into a state of panic. Hot flashes? More like there’d be a flash of intensely high heat and then a pile of ashes left on the ground where I had been standing because on a normal day I could heat the bathwater up just by climbing into a tub of cold water (I jest, I wasn’t quite that hot).

Another thing I’m sitting in my office doing? Feeling accomplished. I bought a notebook the other day and I started writing down all the things I need to do at work NOW. I filled up two pages right away. Little things (phone this person, reply to this email, write cheque for this person.. etc) and big things. Things that would take 5 seconds and things that would take a couple of hours. Then I started doing them. My poor little beanie brain is hurting but I have crossed so many things off the list and added more to it. I can actually go home feeling good about what I did at work. I think that this is the first time that I have ever had to write everything down like that! I hope that this is just the brain fog side effect that can happen during early sobriety and not a sign of my old age! πŸ˜‰

29 comments

  1. Joss · February 28

    Congratulations on getting organized! It’s something I’ve been working on and it’s so rewarding…
    Brain fog is definitely an early sobriety thing, though. It’ll pass.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Kelly - A Better Path · February 28

    I love making lists and crossing things off. I am so much more decisive and productive as well. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sauvignonblackout · February 28

    Wow dude, sounds like you are motoring along very smoothly indeed! Nice one πŸ‘ŒπŸ» xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. saoirsek · February 28

    Wonderful positive postπŸ˜ƒI love lists, i get such a sense of achievement marking stuff off. It’s one of the gifts of sobriety, saying you’ll do something and then ACTUALLY doing it! SimplesπŸ˜€

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Paul S · February 28

    I love my lists. I write them daily. Sometimes I get to everything, other times I shuffle things around. I try to prioritize so my perfectionism doesn’t creep in and bring me down for not hammering away at it all. So I will carry certain things to the next day. I have only so much energy!

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 28

      My hamsters can only run for so long and so fast, so I have to leave quite a bit for the next day. There are constant interruptions at my work too, and I have to be able to change gears quickly and jump from one train of thought to another. I have made lists before here and there but they usually get lost on my disaster of a desk so this is a big step for me 😁

      Like

  6. I Quit Wineing · February 28

    Funny how your body temp has changed since quitting. Not sure if it is a good or bad thing though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 28

      In the summer or when visiting a tropical place it will probably be a good thing. Right here and now during winter it’s not that good of a thing! Lol. My poor body, it probably went into shock and stayed there 😊

      Like

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 28

      In the summer or if I visit a hot tropical place it will probably be a good thing! 😊

      Like

  7. Lamar Washington · February 28

    Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Elizabeth · February 28

    Such a good feeling to be productive! Good job. From a chinese medicine perspective: alcohol stresses the liver which creates excess heat in the body. Your liver is much happier with you. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Hurrahforcoffee · March 1

    I love lists…I love buying the stationary to write the lists with more than making the lists:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s some really nice stationary out there! And also some really nice notebooks. I just bought a plain one. Maybe if I am good and keep up the listing and doing, then I will treat myself to a nicer one. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. furtheron · March 1

    I often drop in to the procrastination trap and sit doing little at work but worrying and putting off doing things I should be doing.

    I have a pad – I write actions in it. I do nothing with them!

    A good reminder that I should return to the practice I used to have – a weekly sweep up of all actions in a consolidated list and then … JFDI!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been a master procrastinator lately. A weekly sweep up is a really good idea! I’d have to do that on Wednesday to have it done by Friday πŸ™‚ Good luck! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  11. dewyplace · March 1

    I’ve also bought one but I need to keep going with it . I like it when I tick things off not entering into the phone and deleting as I go not the same 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mark David Goodson · March 1

    There is nothing like setting out a “this is what I’ll do” and knocking it out. I can relate. As a teacher, and I think I learned this in sobriety, I’ve begun to enjoy front loading the work. Whereas I used to knock it out at the last possible moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hopefully this is something that I get better at! I always felt that I worked really well under pressure but then I also used to take a lot of work home with me and write out grant applications while drinking a bottle of wine in an evening.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. MrsMac · March 1

    I love making lists. It keeps me organised and I feel accomplished when I can tick a few off. However, I do tend to write them out rough, then prioritise them, then write them out neat… procrastinating anyone???? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ They do serve as a good reminder off what I need to get done though 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Untipsyteacher · March 1

    I love lists, too!
    When I was teaching it was the only way I could get things done, because then my brain didn’t have to carry all that stuff in it.
    Now that I am retired, I still have lists, but I make them much shorter.
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

