125

I had an awesome weekend this past weekend. Thank goodness because my mood last week was nothing short of grumpy.

Boyfriend wanted to meet up with friends for steak night at the pub on Friday night and although I wanted to crawl under a rock I begrudgingly went. The place was busy and there was ONE waitress (a new hire nonetheless!) working. We sat for 45 minutes without the waitress even looking at our table while the owner of the place sat at a table with some of his buddies and then to top it off, the manager came out and stood talking to the bartender, joking around. Well… I was hangry, so I pushed my chair out and went up to the manager while everyone at my table and the neighbouring tables went completely quiet. haha. Trust me I was tempted to be rude, but I just calmly said that we had been waiting for 45 minutes and I was wondering if it would be better to come up to the bar to place our food order. I said “your one waitress tonight has been going nonstop and I have heard her apologize to other patrons, but I can clearly see that it isn’t her fault as it’s very busy tonight”. He sprung into action and came over and took our orders, and then the owner came over and offered a free round of drinks. I laughed and told him to make mine a gingerale. He said “Oh! If you’re not drinking you can have chicken wings instead then!” What? Seriously? Best reward ever for being the sober one. 😀 I was the envy of the table (No, not really, everyone else helped themselves to my chicken wings. Jerks)

Saturday afternoon I went to the theatre and watched the movie John Wick 2. It was a toss up between that and the dogs purpose movie but I try to refrain from ugly crying in public. I’m saving the dogs purpose one to watch when it comes out on dvd and I can cuddle my puppies on my couch while watching it. They don’t care if I ugly cry, it usually just means that there’s more snacks for them as I tend to stuff my face too when I watch sad movies.  😉

Saturday night we went to a friends house so I stopped at a grocery store and found some cool non alcoholic ginger beers (great jamaican ginger beer). I’m on a gingerale kick right now so these jumped out at me. They’re in little stubby bottles too, so kind of fun to drink out of. The only downside is that they’re pretty much marketed as a mix. “Add beer! Add dark rum!” Ugh, why? You’ve got a totally cool, fun to drink product by itself. We had a super fun evening but of course people had to comment about me not drinking. There was one person in the group though – the one with the sad eyes. The one who drinks a LOT at every gathering and everyone else has “those stories” about him. He kept asking me questions – why had I quit? Was I going to drink again? Any answer I’d give him he would just nod. He was watching me all night, almost like he was assessing whether or not someone could have fun if they weren’t drinking. It’s weird being aware of that kind of thing.

Sunday I felt great, and I think that I felt even more great simply because NO HANGOVER! Boyfriend was dragging ass and feeling like crap and I felt awesome, motivated and full of energy. So I ran off into the city by myself and took my oldest son for lunch (this makes me even more happy), and then I went grocery shopping.

I am super weird with grocery shopping. I could easily spend about 5 hours in a grocery store just browsing around and looking at different things, picking things off the shelf, reading labels, talking to staff, etc. If I go somewhere on vacation I go to a grocery store just to look around (prime example – Hawaii. Their grocery stores are TOTALLY different than the ones here and their seafood section is ridiculous. Seriously. Also ridiculous – they have spam flavoured macadamia nuts. Obviously I am not using the word ridiculous in a derogatory manner in either of those sentences.) Maybe I should start a blog on it – The Traveling Grocery Store Creeper. Nahh maybe not.

❤  125 today baby!! ❤

34 comments

  1. tarnishedsoul · February 27

    Woooohoooo! You rock.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. bluebird487 · February 27

    Yay for 125 (and all the days before that)! Nice to read that things are on an upswing. I just finished reading A Dog’s Purpose (while cuddling with my pup) and there were LOTS of tears – kind of cathartic though. I can relate to the grocery store love – spam flavored macadamia nuts? Yuck! But just maybe delicious…?

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 27

      Thank you bluebird! Oh no I was kind of hoping that someone would say that there would be no tears during A Dog’s Purpose so that I could go and see it in the theatres without fear of having to scuttle out of there with a blanket over my head hahaha. Oh my gosh, I’m so excited to “meet” someone else who loves grocery stores!! yeah and those macadamia nuts are apparently their best sellers but I don’t know if it’s because people are buying them as gag gifts, or if they are really delicious… hmmm…

      Like

      • bluebird487 · February 27

        I’m avoiding the movie for that reason as well – I prefer to ugly cry on my own couch. I’m a fan of odd food combinations – my new favorite “treat” is a greek yogurt flavored with blackberry and serrano peppers. Sounds gross but I sort of love it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · February 27

        That actually sounds very intriguing and I bet it’s delicious! I love trying weird food combinations!

        Like

  3. ainsobriety · February 27

    I love foreign grocery stores! They are my favourite!

    Sounds like you are finding your rhythm!!!!!

    Awesome

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Lori · February 27

    I agree, the grocery stores in Hawaii were awesome! I too am a grocery geek.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. AddictedSophie · February 28

    I love those stories especially the chicken wings and the guy who watched you. That must have been really interesting 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 28

      Thanks for dropping by Sophie! It’s weird noticing things like that now as I was always so oblivious to everything when I was drinking. People could have been staring at me in complete horror and I wouldn’t have had a clue lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. dewyplace · February 28

    Was going to post spam ham photos for you in the reply but don’t think I can might have to make a post of it 😂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hurrahforcoffee · February 28

      OMW can you imagine spam flavour anything. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • dewyplace · February 28

        Hehehe I’m now a converted Spam
        ham lover 😍

        Liked by 2 people

      • shehidbehindtheglass · February 28

        I used to LOVE spam sandwiches with toasted bread and lots of mayonnaise when I was young. About 5 yrs ago I decided to make some again so I bought a can of spam and made these delicious sandwiches that tasted no where near what I remembered them tasting like hahaha.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Hurrahforcoffee · February 28

        Honestly never tasted spam, seen in on the shelves though and remember the Monty Python song about it. We ate polony as kids and I loved it. x

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Hurrahforcoffee · February 28

    I LOVE grocery shopping (when I’m alone) especially on holiday somewhere exotic! I can also spend hours:) I’ve been putting raw ginger in everything lately. I think my organs need it? (That sounded better in my head). Waiting for 45 when I’m hungry would have elicited a much less polite response from me. Well done on keeping your cool. xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 28

      I love ginger. There’s a little store here that sells the most delicious dark chocolate covered candied ginger. A little box of it is more than I used to spend on a bottle of wine but omg it is to die for. I’m currently trying to avoid the store haha.
      I have a really bad, really short temper so controlling it is something that I put a lot of work into. I give myself a little mental pat on the back every time I deal with a situation in a calm manner 🙂
      Have a a great day Hurrah! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hurrahforcoffee · February 28

        Thanks you too, sounds delicious! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • dewyplace · February 28

        Hehehe you can go do courses to make chocolate. After I’ve been I’d never look at chocolate the same way. It was a messy process.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. MrsMac · February 28

    You sound like you had a fantastic weekend. I too have to psych myself up for nights out now but i always have a great time. I guess I’m still training my brain to realise I dont need alcohol to have a good time. My nights out are always fun and the lack ofhangover in the mornjng is AWESOME! Well Done on 125

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 28

      Thank you MrsMac! I have always thought that I was pretty shy and awkward in crowds and needed alcohol to loosen up and lighten up, but I’m finding the longer that I’m sober, the more I actually enjoy being sober and I’m not feeling as shy and awkward. Maybe it’s a little bit of inner smugness knowing that I’m going to feel great the next morning? haha 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Paul S · February 28

    Congrats on you 125! Like people here have mentioned, sounds like the days are leveling out, things are going on and hey…LIFE is happening. It still happens even after we put the bottle down, it’s how we react to it that shows us where we stand 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Mark David Goodson · February 28

    Ain’t sobriety grand! Glad you had a good weekend…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Untipsyteacher · February 28

    You rocked it this weekend!
    Totally!
    125 Days forward, and never look back!
    xo
    Wendy
    PS – I HATE grocery shopping and in fact it’s only my hubs that goes, as I spend at least $100 more if I go.
    In fact I hate it so much, I won’t go even if all I have to eat is soup and a dried up apple.
    Which has happened for real!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 28

      oh no hahaha, that’s definite proof of a strong dislike of grocery shopping! 😀
      Thanks for your encouragement Wendy!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Untipsyteacher · February 28

    You are welcome!😘

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Elizabeth · February 28

    Love this “happy dance” post! Congrats on 125! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  14. MilesAwayGrrrl · March 5

    Awesome post! Happy 125! And I am so the same with grocery stores abroad!! Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

