Can I do this?

Whenever I’ve been in a situation where I’m super nervous, I have always given myself the little pep talk “I can do this. I CAN do this!”. Honestly it doesn’t help much and I have still been super nervous and on the verge of passing out because my heart is racing so much and I’m forgetting to breathe.

The other day a speaker I was listening to was talking about how we should be asking ourselves “CAN I do this?” instead of telling ourselves that we can do it. The reasoning was something along the lines of our brains will then come up with a bunch of different reasons why we can do it, and will try to protect us from failure or something (I’m sorry, I actually wish I had taken notes!). He was a really great speaker and I did pay attention to what he was saying, honestly. This one part really stood out for me though, I guess because I have to give myself little pep talks quite often.

Almost right after listening to him speak, I had to stand in front of a (smaller) crowd and do about 1 minute of public speaking myself. The thought of public speaking makes me want to cry. I get so nervous that my heart races and my throat squeezes tight and my stomach does flip flops and I feel like I’m going to pee my pants and then I get so nervous at the thought of maybe peeing my pants in front of a crowd that my heart races faster and I forget to breathe and then I feel like I’m going to pass out and what happens if I pass out AND pee my pants… (deep breath)… and the worst part is that I would actually love to be a public speaker – I do love to speak and I have lots to speak about haha (that’s what I tell myself to try to psyche myself up every time my begging not to be made to do it falls on deaf ears) Anyway… when I was starting to feel nervous, I asked myself “Can I do this?” and seriously… it turned it around and I came up with a bunch of reasons why I could and laughed at myself for being nervous. (ANDDD I did not pee my pants).

I wish I had heard that a few months ago when I was trying to get through those crazy first few months of sobriety.

“Can I do this?”

Hell to the yeah you can!

12 comments

  1. soberisland · February 16

    Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joss · February 16

    Congratulations! Public speaking has never been a strength of mine, either. I use the old trick of looking slightly above the audience when speaking- so it looks like you’re making eye contact, but really you’re just checking out the wall.
    Asking yourself if you can do something is a cool mental trick, I’ll check it out. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 16

      Joss, (thanks for dropping by!), I get myself so worked up prior to even speaking, pretty much as soon as I find out I’m supposed to. Thank goodness its few and far between that I have to.

      Like

  3. Untipsyteacher · February 16

    That’s a good turn around!
    I always say, I can do this.
    Especially when I need to get up in the morning!
    I love public speaking.
    I am glad you had a good experience!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 3 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 17

      Thanks Wendy. Have you always loved public speaking?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Untipsyteacher · February 17

        I have! I remember a speech I gave in 9th grade and how good I felt. I think I am a closet diva or something!

        Liked by 2 people

      • shehidbehindtheglass · February 17

        That’s awesome! It truly is a gift I think, to be able to do that. I’m even more in awe of you now! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hurrahforcoffee · February 17

      Thanks Wendy that just made me chuckle. Now I have something to tell myself when I can’t get out of bed.x

      Liked by 2 people

      • shehidbehindtheglass · February 17

        I usually grumble and whine “do I really have to do this?….” every morning when I have to get up. I should do the same as you Wendy!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hurrahforcoffee · February 17

    I was fearless in front of crowd before I turned 13. I would sing, debate, perform with no issues. I think if you put me in front of a crowd now I would pee mysefl and then run away. Maybe look atgetting a coach?- my husband has fear but the more he does talks the better he gets at public speaking. x

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 17

      There really is no reason for me to have to do it – I think they make me for their own entertainment. *pout* 😉
      I may try going to toastmasters one of these days, it’s supposed to help.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hurrahforcoffee · February 17

        My dad loved toastmasters. Don’t they drink loads at toastmasters?:)

        Like

Leave a Reply

