Fly

I’m seeing lots of music posts today! What an awesome Friday vibe 🙂

One of my all time favourite songs is Free Bird by Lynyrd Skynyrd. Oh the memories I have with this song, and how I’d love it if it came on when I was completely f*&ked up. As with many of the awesome bands of the past, addiction caused this band a lot of troubles. Gary Rossington, their lead guitarist back in ’76 crashed his new car while under the influence which lead to a delay of their tour and also to Ronnie Van Zant writing the song “That Smell” AND banning all drugs and alcohol from their dressing rooms. Sadly, just after their tour did start, Ronnie and several other band members were killed in a plane crash. Gary survived with multiple injuries which kickstarted his addictions again. I *think* that the band is clean and sober now?

Back to Free Bird though… as I was humming along to the song when it came on the radio during my commute the other day, I kept thinking that the lyrics kind of described how I feel now… free, with so much to see. Sober me loves this song just as much as I used to.

Lyrics

If I leave here tomorrow
Would you still remember me
For I must be travelin’ on now
There’s too many places I got to see

If I stay here with you girl
Things just couldn’t be the same
‘Cause I’m as free as a bird now
And this bird you cannot change
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
And the bird you cannot change
And this bird you cannot change
Lord knows, I can’t change

Bye and bye baby, it’s been sweet love, yeah yeah
Though this feelin’ I can’t change
Please don’t take it so badly
‘Cause Lord knows, I’m to blame

And if I stay here with you girl
Things just couldn’t even be the same
‘Cause I’m as free as a bird now
And this bird you cannot change
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
And the bird you cannot change
And this bird you cannot change

Lord knows, I can’t change
Lord help me, I can’t change
Lord I can’t change
Won’t you fly high free bird yeah

4 comments

  1. tarnishedsoul · February 10

    Great song!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hurrahforcoffee · February 10

    Happy Friday lovely lady.x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elizabeth · February 10

    Thank you! From one free bird to another! I love it sober as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

