Dipsy doo

Sometimes I do things that I have to shake my head and laugh at myself over. Over the weekend even though I knew I had such a crazy busy weekend and company coming over and lots of housework to do, I got it into my head that I wanted to try a scalp detox scrub. I read about it either Friday or Saturday and it’s supposed to be really good for your scalp and encourage hair growth and healthy hair follicles etc. I have pretty thin unhealthy hair (although to be honest it is looking a LOT better these past few months!), and I thought I’d give it a little treat now that it isn’t battling the side effects of me drinking and smoking.

The recipe for this is pretty easy:
Mix olive oil, lemon juice and sea salt together and rub into scalp. Massage, rinse. Done.

DONNA’S recipe went something like this:

  • figure out best time to squeeze new adventure in to the day between cleaning and guests arriving
  • Be sure to give yourself no extra time for error or unexpected blips. Remember – you’re on a time crunch here!
  • While cleaning house, be sure to mop bathroom floor and vaccuum bathroom throw rug. Spend extra time on this while you daydream about scalp exfoliation procedure
  • Mix ingredients as called for. Forgot where you saw recipe? No worries, this one is easy to wing. Squirt of lemon juice, some sea salt… dang all the salt is in the pre-filled, disposable grinder that you bought and can’t figure out how to pry the lid off. Ok, grind some into the bowl. Well, THAT’s too fine, it should be coarse! Where’s that pickling salt you bought last fall, that should do the trick. What’s the difference between these types of course salt anyway? All good, now add olive oil. Too much olive oil. Add more salt. Ok, all ready to head into the bathroom
  • Put bowl on counter, stand on clean floor and scoop scrub out of bowl and apply to dry hair (scrub just falls off all over the place). Ok, maybe get hair wet first (*strips down, into shower, gets hair wet, climbs back out*).  There, that’s better, now the salt is sticking!
  • Since you’re naked and in the bathroom and have salt scrub in your hair, now is the PERFECT time to try out that coffee/sugar body scrub you got for Christmas. Open the container, climb back into the bathtub (we don’t want the coffee scrub all over the floor do we? Don’t turn the water on yet!). Scrub it all over you. Ahhh awesome. Your skin is going to be so soft. Oops, quite a bit got on the bottom of the tub, but I bet it would be great if you rub your feet in it and give their soles a little exfoliating too.
  • Realize that now you have to wash all this stuff off, but the open container of coffee scrub is in the bathtub with you, and the lid is over on the counter, and the bottom of your feet are covered in the coffee scrub. Contemplate trying to toss the container to counter. Decide to step onto freshly vacuumed throw rug instead. Just quickly and then back into the bathtub. It’s ok, there’s already the salt scrub on the rug anyway. (I am just realizing now as I’m typing it that I could have turned the tap on and rinsed my feet off hahaha, that never even crossed my mind at the time)
  • Turn shower on, wash out hair scrub, wash down body. Shampoo hair. Wow, that oily feeling must be from the olive oil, eh? Maybe the original recipe didn’t call for so much. Make mental note to look up recipe again. Shampoo hair a second time. Hrrmmm… still feels a bit oily. Will have to do, company will be here soon.

I will say though, my hair felt AMAZING. If doing this helps it grow faster that’s an added bonus.

21 comments

  1. ainsobriety · January 30

    I am just as ADD as you.

    I’m glad your hair feels good. I took biotin for a while when my hair was falling out from lack of food (clearly a sign I should have heeded). It’s a B vitamin. It actually works well.

    Liked by 3 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 30

      I started taking biotin a few weeks after I quit drinking and then I got those awful skin rashes all over my face. I quit taking it in case it had something to do with it, but I should start taking it again! I think those rashes may have been caused by a natural hyaluronic acid serum that I bought on amazon. (Thinking that because I started and stopped using that the same time as the biotin, but then just started using that again a week ago and the skin irritation is back!)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Merry B. Sober · January 30

    ROFLMAO (My teens taught me this!) Loved this “entry”…

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 30

      Thank goodness for teens eh? Mine have had to tolerate a million questions “What does this stand for?” “What is snapchat and how do I…” from me. Glad you got a laugh out of this one Merry!

      Like

  3. Elizabeth · January 30

    OMGosh- you have me belly laughing!! You painted a vivid picture. :)))

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Untipsyteacher · January 30

    Thank you for the funny images!
    I hope you grow a head of fat hair soon!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hurrahforcoffee · January 31

    Thanks I needed that laugh, love the way you wrote this!!! I might try that scrub…

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 31

      Just make sure you get your hair wet first! I did some more research online yesterday about the benefits of scalp scrubs and there are quite a few actually! Very interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hurrahforcoffee · January 31

        You just made me spit out my coffee from laughing again. Yes I will make sure my hair is wet first, very good advice:)

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 31

        Oh no, sorry to waste your coffee! I know how good coffee tastes in sobriety!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. asobermiracle · January 31

    That is exactly like something I would do. And I did this kind of thing BEFORE killing all those brain cells. I also tried the olive oil “hair soak” before, but it took me like five washings to get it out. (I’m sure I didn’t bother measuring out what the recipe said.) I will wait and try your version when I have too much to do and people are on the way to my house. ; )
    As for rinsing your feet …. I once spent a week exiting the driver’s seat of my car by climbing over the passenger seat because the door handle had broken off on the inside, so you couldn’t open the door to get out. One of my coworkers who saw me trying to climb over the seat in a skirt said, “Why don’t you just roll down your window, stick your arm out, and open the door from the outside?”
    Very embarrassing. This had never occurred to me.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. daisy4leafclover · January 31

    Ha ha you sound like Bridget Jones!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Paul S · January 31

    Ha ha…thanks for the laugh. I get caught up in thinking like that often too!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. suburbanbetty · February 1

    Hahahaha!! Fabulous.

    Like

  10. SWMum · February 1

    I bet you smelt gorgeous afterwards!! Well done on prioritising the ‘me time’ and giving me a giggle in the process!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · February 1

      I think I did smell pretty fabulous actually! haha. It’s amazing how wonderful skin feels after a good scrub, especially in the winter!

      Like

Leave a Reply

