It’s everywhere…..

Love this post from Sober(ish), and it mirrors what I’ve been feeling lately.

Alcohol is everywhere. It permeates our culture. It’s in advertisements, movies, literature, our yoga classes (which still baffles me). Before I started getting serious about sobriety, I hadn’t really noticed because it was so ingrained into my everyday life. Of course we can find it in all the old familiar places: bars, clubs, restaurants. But it doesn’t end there. We’ve got book clubs with wine. Baby showers with wine. Painting classes with wine. Concerts in the park. With wine. We are constantly being inundated with the idea that we need alcohol to have fun, socialize, kick back, or function successfully.

via Drowning in Alcohol Culture — Sober(ish)

6 comments

  1. asobermiracle · January 23

    Let’s not forget children’s birthday parties! And now, our local grocery store just installed a bar to make shopping more pleasant. Do you know what I have noticed? Just the mention of alcohol makes everyone go into this wink-wink middle school mentality, like we’re all getting away with skipping school. It’s annoying! Even newscasters do it. And do we really need Bourbon pancakes? Ugh.

    As you can see, I am in a ranting mood. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 24

      bourbon pancakes? oh my! I saw some wine scented body lotion the other day. I wrote a post a while back (before Christmas) where I volunteered at a pancake breakfast with Santa and most of the volunteers were boozing it up. Weee! It’s so much the norm in society these days that we get looked at cockeyed as if we’ve lost our marbles by not drinking. It’s so weird!

      Liked by 1 person

      • asobermiracle · January 24

        It is weird. I never really noticed it until I tried to stop drinking. It really is everywhere.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. justsober · January 23

    Yes. EVERYWHERE 😜😡

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary · January 24

    An exceptional post. I am new to the recovery blogging community. You are right…alcohol is its own celebrity.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 24

      It really is, isn’t it. And I find that very weird… We live in a society that pushes health benefits and organic stuff and yet instead of talking about the health benefits of QUITTING drinking, we get told the “health benefits” of different wines, alcohol, etc.So bizarre, I just truly don’t understand why it’s pushed on us so much, to the point where we feel like the outcasts or weirdos for not drinking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

