1,2,3 “and your brain is retrained!” *finger snap*

I made those cauliflower “buffalo chicken wings” last night. They were NOT like chicken wings. They weren’t like chicken wings at all! I’m not saying that they were bad, or “don’t waste your time making these”, but let’s call a spade a spade here – they were batter coated cauliflower with a buffalo sauce on them. If someone had said to me “hey, I found a great recipe for cauliflower and it has a buffalo sauce like you put on chicken wings. It’s pretty good, for a cauliflower recipe” then I would have said “hey, cool. I’ll give that a try”. Instead… I felt ripped off because I was craving chicken wings and I tried substituting “chicken wings” for the real ones, when I probably should have thought a little harder about what I was craving. Chicken? Hot sauce? Something crispy coated with hot sauce? The simple act of eating something with my fingers? When I was picking up the ingredients for those, I also picked up some stew meat to make a stew on the weekend because it is flippin’ cold here and I want some nice hot comfort food. As I was driving home I suddenly thought “OMG! Do I even know how to make stew without adding red wine to it?!” (The answer is no. I will have to look up some recipes and hope that they end up tasting somewhat similar to the stew that I love the taste of)

Wouldn’t it be nice if someone could just snap their fingers at us and our brains would be completely retrained to stop thinking about drinking? “Looooook at me… stare at this wine cork I’m swinging on a string in front of your face. I’m going to count to 3 and you’ll feel sleepy…” Instead we get to do it ourselves, one step, one experience, one special occasion, one memory, one day at at time. I keep thinking ahead and panicking a bit “How am I going to go camping this summer without drinking?!” “How am I going to go on 5 different flights during April and May and not drink on any of them?!” “How am I going to stay dry in Vegas?! Will I still love Vegas through sober eyes?” “How am I going to make stew without wine?” I know it’s easy to say “don’t think ahead or worry about the future” but I’m a planner, and planning ahead is also part of my job. Thinking about little details and the possible unforeseen’s is also part of my job so it’s easy to fall into that train of thought. I just need to find a way to remove the thoughts of alcohol/drinking related thoughts, or maybe, as it was with the chicken wings, pull those thoughts apart and figure out what it really is I’m worried about. One day at a time… it’s gotten me to 80 days so far lol.

35 comments

  1. Carrie Ann · January 13

    Yes. Me too. I went to a movie with a friend on day 3 three or something and while this friend and I had engaged in conversations about excessive drinking, she has not quit. We went to our “usual” theater that has a little bar area…I just sat with her and she drank her glass. I actually ordered popcorn that day. After all, I have LOTS of free calories these days! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ainsobriety · January 13

    Yes. It really is all about what we want. Take the time to pause and start figuring it out.
    I agree. Buffalo cauliflower isn’t wings. It’s still ok, but so not the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 13

      Cauliflower recipes are all the rage lately – I’ve seen some really good sounding ones. I think next time I will make the cooked, smashed, smothered in cheese and bacon recipe. Just like mashed potatoes or so I read 😉

      Like

      • Elizabeth · January 13

        I no sooner left a comment on your last post to let me know how they came out and voila! I scroll up (or down?) and here it is. Congrats to 80 days!! 13 here.

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 14

        Congrats on 13!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Elizabeth · January 14

        Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 14

        You’re welcome!

        Like

      • ainsobriety · January 13

        I use cauliflower for everything. I’ve been low carb for years and am celiac.

        It’s good, but nothing beats a chicken wing. We have an actifry and make a batch every weekend. Mmmmm

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 14

        I’ve heard a lot about the actifry! I don’t suppose you have an insta-pot too, do you? I’m really curious about those and wondering if they’re worth the investment and as easy to use as they seem?

        Like

      • ainsobriety · January 14

        Yes. I have an insta pot and I love it. I used to use the crock pot more. Now I use the insta pot.

        It makes fall off the bone ribs in under an hour.

        And I was trying to be more vegetarian and it is excellent for beans.

        I think it’s worth every penny.

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 14

        Awesome! Thank you!

        Like

  3. daisy4leafclover · January 13

    Bless you, I did wonder when you first mentioned them 😉
    People say take it one day at a time but sometimes it’s hard. It’s my 40th this year, how do I get through that sober, it’s not until July but I still keep wondering.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 13

      My birthday is in August! I’m a couple of years older than you. I have some birthdays that I don’t even remember going to bed or how the evening ended! Hopefully this year I will find a way to have a lot of laughs and fun with friends and remember everything the next morning. Maybe I will host a booze free party at my house with lots of awesome NA punches and fabulous and fun mocktails and all the guests will have an awesome time and wonder why on earth they ever felt the need to drink at parties! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • daisy4leafclover · January 13

        Sound’s like a plan, I don’t remember any birthdays, at at all so this will be a first!! X

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 13

        And what a one to remember!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Merry B. Sober · January 13

    I’m a planner too. It’s hard to stay present in the …the present moment and not being planning forward. Great post…I could really relate.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Untipsyteacher · January 13

    I have not cooked anything in over 39 years!
    For real!
    I have baked, though.
    Happy 80 Days!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 14

      What?! Your hubby does all the cooking?! That’s awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Untipsyteacher · January 14

        He does!
        I’m a bit spoiled!

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 14

        That’s wonderful! It’s nice to be spoiled! And also nice for him to do something that he enjoys (I’m assuming he does it because he enjoys it and not because you’re cracking the whip forcing him to cook for you 😉😊)

        Liked by 1 person

  6. asobermiracle · January 13

    Very funny post! I’ve had a bad cold and was taking NyQuil. It turns out it has alcohol in it, enough that you have to show an ID when buying it. (My husband told me this much later.) It’s less than 10% of a tablespoon, but who knew?? I had to start taking the other brands, which didn’t work nearly as well. I will NOT count this as a break in sobriety!

    I realize I am now totally off-topic, but it took me a long time to type this out, so I’m posting anyway. ; )

    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 14

      Really? I have the craziest dreams when I use NyQuil haha. No, don’t count it as a break in sobriety! (Unless you started chugging it by the bottlefull after you found out that! 😉) I was buying kombucha drinks in early sobriety and loved them, and then was mortified to read a blog where the girl said she gets tipsy from drinking them, which made me do a panicked research on them (I was buying them at our grocery store and there was NO alcohol percentage warning thing on the label) and I found out that due to the fermentation process they can actually have a moderate alcohol perecentage! What! I wanted to cry with frustration over that one.

      Liked by 1 person

      • asobermiracle · January 15

        Thanks for the warning! I’ve tried the Kombucha but couldn’t acquire a taste for it. I had to throw out a large piece of rum cake that my sister had made over the holidays. (The cake is soaked in rum AFTER it is baked, so that rum doesn’t cook off.) I just went into the kitchen to get ice cream, allegedly, and then dumped the whole thing down the garbage disposal. Not that I was worried about getting a cake buzz, but I didn’t want to give myself the ammunition to turn this into a reason to have “one drink.”*

        * I now know that “one drink” is like the mythical unicorn — it doesn’t exist.

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 15

        I always feel like a piranha – one little sniff or taste can be enough to send me into a frenzy (well maybe not a frenzy but it sure gets my mind thinking about it!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · January 15

        Ps- good job on throwing out the rum cake. Used to be one of my fave holiday goodies along with rum balls 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  7. mooseylou · January 13

    Love and totally relate to this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I Quit Wineing · January 14

    When I was vegan I lived on cauliflower wings. But they were an attempt to create chicken wing and never really fulfilled the desire. Even now as a low carb paleo I refuse to make ‘taste like recipes’. Bread is bread and no recipe that claims to taste the same is ever succesful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. dewyplace · January 14

    You could do Bo Kho which is a Viet recipe. No need for wine and tastes yummo. I’ll post the recipe soon. It’s gravy beef or any stewing meat with carrots and black bean sauce and spices.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. dewyplace · January 14

    Or curries they are yum to have on cold days and no alcohol needed. Asian food don’t have much alcohol in it and still tastes nice . Try substituting your wine with spices, herbs and good old fashion broth 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mark David Goodson · January 17

    Here’s to 80 more days living one day at a time!

    Glad the recipe worked out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

