How many times?

2017! When I was still writing cheques as payments for things, it would take me WEEKS to adjust to a new year! To be honest, I’ve never really been a big one on the whole “new year” celebrations; to me that happens on my birthday because it’s a new year for me then. The past few years though, I’ve been heaving a sigh of relief when the year comes to a close. “Maybe next year will be better” I’d mutter under my breath as I put up a new calendar. I wouldn’t officially make New Years resolutions because I didn’t need something else to be disappointed in myself over but I’d mentally make a list of things I’d like to do over the year. The crazy thing is, life never goes according to plan! You’re sailing along smoothly thinking “hell yeahhh… got a couple bucks in the bank, feeling great, sun is shining, car is getting great gas mileage, flowers are blooming!” And the KABAMMM! Life hits you with a curve ball or left hand hook and the car breaks down, the clouds roll in and some a-hole comes along and picks the flowers. Other times it’s not so drastic and it’s just a simple ebb and flow. And so it goes, day after day, month after month, year after year, without it mattering what letters represent the month or what numbers represent the year. And the fact that I’m going to be facing all that sober? Yikes! Terrifying! What will I use for a safety net?! How do I navigate through and survive the rough days or terrible hours? Well my PLAN is to take each one as it comes and know that it’s part of the ridiculously-not-at-all-smooth-and-straight road of life and that there will be bumps and curveballs and left hooks, but those hours or days or possibly even weeks, will be followed by beautiful, funny, or just plain boring hours, days and weeks. And from everything I’ve read (long term sober people please chime in), when you’re sober and thinking clearly, you deal with the down days a lot faster than hiding behind the glass hoping it goes away by itself. So here’s to the next 365 days ahead of us being full of adventure, lessons, laughter, luck and health. Thanks for being here, and happy new year! 💗

12 comments

  1. thesobergarden · January 1

    Here’s to days ahead of no longer hiding behind the glass indeed. Love from The Sober Garden x.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth · January 1

    And thank you for being here and sharing yourself with us,<3

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hurrahforcoffee · January 1

    Happy New Year dearest! May 2017 be full of new adventures for you. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dewyplace · January 1

    Life is like a roller coaster so let buckle up and enjoy it . If it was smooth sailing it wouldn’t be any fun now would it?
    Take one day at a time and if it’s too hard one hour at a time or one minute at a time.
    I’m dreading the long days ahead as I’m thinking of quitting my job and be a stay at home mum/wife. Support my husband with our business spend more time being a wife.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. asobermiracle · January 1

    Not nearly many crazy, awful thing happen to you while you’re not drinking. You do things while drinking to cause many of the issues you end up having to deal with, so what first appears as boring might just be calm waters, smooth sailing. It just takes a while to embrace the feeling and recognize it for what it is. ; )
    Happy New Year!
    xoxo

    Liked by 3 people

  6. I Quit Wineing · January 1

    I am going to try meditation more seriously as a way of coping through the downs of life. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Untipsyteacher · January 1

    Happy New Year!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  8. audreycandoit · January 4

    Happy New Year hon!!! Big hugs for a fabulous 2017. I am looking forward to it. I also gave up cigarettes on the 1st, 4 days in now…doing good, but can you say “Hey – who’s the space cadet?” lol…love your post – so true, all the ups and downs of life. Audrey

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 4

      congrats on quitting smoking too, Audrey! I don’t think I would have been able to do them separately!

      Like

  9. Mark David Goodson · January 4

    Happy new year to you too! Here’s to being sober today, the rest will take care of itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Susanne · January 6

    I actually quit drinking at the new year so I’m really hoping 2017 will be a good one! Taking it one day at a time is all we can do. I made it through day 7. Hope you have an awesome year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · January 6

      Hi Susanne!! Congrats on 7 days, that’s SO GREAT! I look forward to following your journey and I hope that 2017 is an amazing year for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

