Discombobulated

I wasn’t able to get on here to read posts and updates the past few days and what the heck THERE ARE SO MANY NEW POSTS!! hahaha. I think I’ve kind of caught up! Well I have had an interesting few days. A couple of ex boyfriends have been on my mind a lot lately. My ex husband and I didn’t split up until I was in my mid thirties, and that was after being together for almost 20 years, sooo dating was a whole new thing to me and something that I wasn’t very good at! I had a couple of long term (yr+) relationships that I ended when they started to get more serious as I wasn’t ready at that time for that. They ended on good terms and I have always had the frame of mind that everyone comes into your life for a reason and so I am thankful to all of them and wish almost all of them happiness in life. The guys I dated were all different personalities/ types of people and I learned different lessons from each of them. The first one taught me how to stand up for myself and be more assertive. The second one taught me how to really let loose and have fun (this turned out to be a bit problematic though, and led to the love of that feeling of losing control & blacking out). The third one taught me how to love truly, deeply and kindly (this one broke my heart by moving east to pursue a business opportunity. He wanted to continue the relationship and I ended it because I was sure that I would be terrible at a long distance relationship. We have kept in touch as friends.) After #3 I went back to #2 feeling sad and lonely, but soon realized that that relationship was not a good one and ended it (again) on a friendly note. Then I met a guy at a bar (#4) and thought we had a fun connection – a love of traveling as we talked about that a lot. We went on one trip where we just bar hopped the entire time. Over the few months that we were together we ended up drinking more and talking less until he broke up with me 2 days after Christmas AFTER he had started seeing someone else and happily accepted all the awesome & thoughtful xmas gifts I gave him. (this one I haven’t stayed in touch with, and don’t really give a RA if he’s happy or not) Then I met #5 and he is the one I’m with now. I often wonder how things would have been different if I hadn’t met #2 or #4. Would I be here, writing about sobriety? What would have flipped my switch? Anyway, funny thing – I was at a meeting in the city yesterday and when I was walking back to my car #4 was walking down the street that intersected with mine but he was heading to the pub that was there. My stomach did a little nervous flip and I thought “ughh that was a close call to being in an awkward situation!” (And by awkward I mean that I would averted my gaze and pretended not to see him and my face would have turned beet red because I’m not good at pretending anything). Then today I went to get my hair done and my hairdresser has apparently left that salon and they had changed my appointment to a different hairdresser (without letting me know), and right now I’m trying to figure out what to do with the BRIGHT ORANGE SPOTS near the front of my hairline that were supposed to be dark red chunky sections in my dark hair. I’m trying to laugh about it. I’m not succeeding too well. Ahhhh this crazy life 😦

FIFTY SEVEN DAYS!!!

 

18 comments

  1. onebottleoneglass · December 21

    Oh nooooo!! At least it’s winter officially now, so you can wear hats until you can get your hair fixed!

    I have a love/hate relationship with going down the rabbit hole of exes. It can tell you a lot about where you are, and where you came from, but sometimes it can be so frustrating and sometimes sad. In the end though, I think you’re always in the right place. Whether it’s at the beginning of a journey, or a destination, there you are!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 21

      That is so true, onebottleoneglass, I too think we’re always in the place we need to be for whatever the reason may be. It is also true that I can wear winter hats to cover my hair up haha. Oh boy, not an excuse for me to buy some cute touques or hats?! ☺

      Like

  2. I Quit Wineing · December 21

    I sometimes see women walking around with orange and brown striped hair. I assume they were going for a subtle look and it didn’t turn out. I call it tiger stripes. I walked around once with platinum blonde hair. Great except I am naturally dark brown and asked the hairdresser to go a few shades lighter. Platinum blonde did not suit me in any way shape or form. Plus my hair was so damaged by the process that it took me twelve months to get it back to normal. I wonder if hairdressers do it on purpose, if they get a kick out of seeing us poor women walk out looking ridiculous. I hope the orange blends in, maybe tones down in a day or two!

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 21

      Oh my, platinum blonde from dark in one visit? I can only imagine how damaged it was! Yes, I know that tiger stripes look, I’ve seen it before too. Thankfully mine are just in the bang area, nicely framing my face. It will be fine. It will make for conversations about the Christmas pictures this year 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I Quit Wineing · December 22

        Yes, it was quite miraculous how she achieved dark brown to platinum blonde in one sitting! I am surprised my hair is still with me after that experience.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Untipsyteacher · December 21

    Happy 57 Days!!
    Orange and all!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Rob · December 21

    Loved yiur post. So funny about yiur haur, sorry! Good for you 2 months coming up!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ainsobriety · December 21

    Orange? I’d call the salon and go back. Lol

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 21

      I was thinking about it but that means taking more time off work or/and trying to squeeze that in before Christmas. I might just pick up some dark hair dye and cover it up myself tomorrow or Friday night. (Watch it turn purple! Hahahaha)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hurrahforcoffee · December 22

    Happy 57 days! What a marvelous word! Discombobulated! I would be mortified to run into any of my exes. Purple is great just pretend you meant to have that colour all along. x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. truthbetold1111 · December 22

    Funny! I ended up with full head of orange hair a couple months ago. I’m sitting here on my bed reading posts while box-o-brown hair color sets. I will correct this color! Best-o-luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. truthbetold1111 · December 22

    And congrats on 57 days! Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. dewyplace · December 25

    😀 wear it crazily like it was supposed to be

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Well wowie wow, wow | She Hid Behind the Glass

Leave a Reply

