Natural soul food

I had a terrible night last night. Things happened that I blew completely out of proportion and completely overreacted to, which in turn caused the boyfriend to act defensive and angry. After I stormed off to bed, I lay awake for hours thinking about drinking. I envisioned the scenario in my head of how things would go if I did get up and say eff it and crack open that bottle of wine in the hallway cupboard, or the spiced rum or vodka or anything actually. Hmm let’s see, I would have stewed and got even angrier, I would have freaked out and probably smashed something, thrown the empty wine bottle no doubt because I would have been pissed about drinking again. I would have yelled and cursed at my boyfriend and ended up drinking the entire night away and missed work today. I also would have missed our first decent weather in WEEKS today. Somehow, some way, I managed to keep myself in bed and had one of the worst nights sleeps I have had in a long time. Today, I needed some soul food. I texted some of the girls I know who work shift work to see if any wanted to go snowshoeing. One took the bait, but for the afternoon. I booked the afternoon off work (would have missed the entire day if I had given in last night! ) and then I texted another friend to see if she could talk, saying that I was having a bad day and needed some laughs. We laughed, joked and cried for an hour and I felt so much better. Then I went snowshoeing this afternoon and now I feel great. It is beautiful outside and we’ll be lucky to get this weather for a week tops before the temperature plunges. I’m at 55 days today. (I counted wrong on my Saturday post) My emotions are all over the place, but it’s amazing how nature, that natural soul food, can calm me right down. 

31 comments

  1. Merry B. Sober · December 19

    You are a Rockstar! I love how you shifted the energy and found ways to make YOU happy!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Rob · December 19

    Well done well done! Way to keep yourself healthy. Keep it up!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. mooseylou · December 19

    So beautiful! Way to go on working through your emotions!

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 19

      Thank you mooseylou, it’s so serene outside right now!

      Liked by 1 person

      • mooseylou · December 20

        I am an Alabama girl, but we did live in Utah for a couple of years. The snow was an experience for me!! I had a love/hate thing going with it. I loved the peace of it falling fresh on a Sunday, but, other than that…. Lol!

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · December 20

        I’m the same mooseylou! I’m happy if it snows on the weekend and looks all pretty, but hate driving in it. It’s usually followed by -20 to -30 Celsius weather for most of the winter and that I DO NOT like at all!

        Like

  4. running from wine · December 19

    So glad it worked out and you stayed in bed…have great friends and made the most of your day! I can totally relate to the drunken overreacting and escalation of events that are fueled by alcohol! You beat it, so hurray!!!! Keep going, you are doing great 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I Quit Wineing · December 19

    Well done! You won a battle. The war is still not over but you have shown that you have the courage to win!

    Liked by 3 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 19

      Thank you so much! It’s been a difficult week with cravings and the voice. Hopefully it keeps getting easier.

      Like

  6. winoholicblog · December 19

    Good job, the more you choose you over alcohol, the easier it gets

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Untipsyteacher · December 19

    I know I would have made it so much worse.
    Snowshoeing in the beautiful snow was wonderful!
    We had a beautiful day here, too!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 2 people

  8. dewyplace · December 19

    yippee yes Mother Nature is a great healer

    Liked by 1 person

  9. dewyplace · December 19

    it started out thundering and stormy this morning and now the sun is out

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sauvignonblackout · December 20

    What a lovely post this is. Well done to you! I am so envious of all that big fluffy white snow!!! Keep up the great work, big hugs xxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. audreycandoit · December 20

    Go you!! You did amazing beating the voices…sometimes it is so hard, and so much easier to throw in the towel, so to speak. I’m proud of you. 55 days = almost 8 weeks – amazing!! You CAN do this. Big hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 20

      Thank you so much Audrey! It is so hard and the support from all of you on here means so much to me! ❤

      Like

  12. Hurrahforcoffee · December 20

    Well done for playing that tape forward. It would have just caused a bigger fight and you would have been so devastated in the morning. The snow looks incredible. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  13. thesobergarden · December 21

    This post is a real eye-opener for me…I’d never even heard of snowshoeing before now! Love it. I’m so glad you dropped by The Sober Garden and left your kind comment – it’s meant I’ve found you here now. Hurrah! And congrats on your 55 days. Keep going x.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 21

      Thank you so much for dropping by! Do you get snow where you live?

      Like

      • thesobergarden · December 22

        Well, we do get snow but it’s sort of short-lived and I’m not sure whether it would be the snowshoeing type of snow – not that I know what snowshoeing is exactly! Is it a walk in the snow in appropriate footwear? When snow arrives in this part of England, we panic and are seriously NOT kitted out for it. Schools, close, no-one can get anywhere and people start panic buying bulk food. Now, if we had snow shoes we could enjoy it and embrace the white stuff! x

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · December 22

        Snowshoes are large flat like contraptions that you fasten underneath your boots and they let you walk on the snow without sinking in too deeply. Great for walking in deep snow

        Like

  14. Mark David Goodson · December 23

    Wow. Incredible.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

