Strangest thing to be nervous about!

Last night the boyfriend and I went out for a really nice meal, our first date night in a long time! There was a separate drinks menu, so I looked through that to see if there was a N/A section, which I didn’t see. Then I teased the boyfriend about the cost of a glass of wine and told him that I wasn’t going to be a cheap date now that I’m not drinking because I was just going to order a more expensive dinner entre AND have dessert. I ordered an iced tea. After our appetizers arrived I picked up the drink menu again and took another, more careful look through. HEY, there was a small little N/A section in there with some fancy looking mocktails! When the waitress came back I ordered one, pointing to it on the menu because of course the name for it didn’t include “virgin” or “mocktail”. When she walked away I was overcome with nervousness. What if she placed the wrong order? What if she accidentally ordered a similar one that has alcohol? When she brought the drink, again nervousness washed over me. I tried to inconspicuously sniff it. I resisted the urge to say to her “just to be sure, this drink DOESNT have alcohol, right?”. I stared at it and nudged the glass around a little bit. Then I tentatively tasted it. All good. And then I sipped and enjoyed the heck out of that drink haha. 

Ps- one of my friends posted an amazing looking recipe on Facebook but it has vodka and champagne in it. I’m going to adapt it to N/A and post it in here for sober drink Sunday if I get the chance to today! It looks like a beauty for a New Years or holiday toast!

10 comments

  1. suburbanbetty · December 18

    I do that too, when I order “virgin” because last year they brought me a daiquiri with rum in it (ewe!) and I had to send it back. So feel free to make sure. It’s okay!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Rob · December 18

    That’s awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Untipsyteacher · December 18

    Caught up on your weekend!
    I don’t like sweet drinks, so I am not a cocktail fan.
    Most of the time I order an NA beer, or water with lemon.
    I am so glad you enjoyed the night out not drinking!
    I love the atmosphere, the food, and just talking.
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 18

      Hi Wendy!! Hope you’re having a great weekend! The drink wasn’t too sweet, more minty like a mojito I guess. I don’t mind sweet drinks, but definitely have a limit on them! Thanks for dropping by and catching up! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I Quit Wineing · December 18

    When I went to a bar recently I asked the bar tender if she could make me a non alcoholic cocktail. She was so excited! it stretched her and allowed her creativity to flow. She made me the most wonderful non alcoholic drink and I thanked her profusely. Sounds like you had a good night!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ainsobriety · December 18

    I find the same thing when I order mocktails…I always ask twice.
    I do the same with gluten free. Best to make sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bren · December 19

    I recently ordered a coke with lunch and randomly got a vodka and coke. I nearly choked on it! I got so upset and started to cry, thinking Omg am I now back at day 1?? After 3 years? ! I was afraid the taste might set me off, thankfully it didn’t. I don’t do AF beer for the same reason. I avoid drinking out of wine glasses because I don’t want to reinforce the vision of myself as a wine drinker. This might sound paranoid but my last relapse lasted 9 years before I got sober again. Vigilant is a key word for me lol!

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 19

      Oh my goodness Bren, I can’t even imagine how terrible that would be! I know what you mean about the taste setting you off! I experienced that even when I was still drinking and tried to cut back or slow down – the “oh, I’ll just have one!” Thoughts and having that one would be like a piranha having a taste of blood. I’m so happy for you that it didn’t happen to you with that drink! Congrats on 3 yrs by the way! That’s fantastic!

      Like

Leave a Reply

