Let it snow let it snow

Winter storms are here dumping some snow on us and it is beautiful outside! I took a vacation day and stayed home from work because I hate driving in snow. What am I doing on day 42 of being sober? Wrapping Christmas presents because for the first time EVER I actually have some Christmas shopping done by early December. Usually I’m right there with the men, shopping on Christmas Eve! (Apologies to men who get it done before then)

I’m pretty pleased with myself to be honest haha. I’ve been hitting up the local Christmas craft sales and have picked up some lovely handmade locally made soaps, lotions, teas, candles, etc. And then our library was having a book sale so I bought some books for myself and some DVDs for my mom for Christmas (documentaries and interesting looking ones that I’m sure she will enjoy). I threw some mulling spices in a pot with some apple juice, lit some cinnamon scented candles, put on some Christmas music and wrapped away. WHO AM I? This is not me at all lol, I get so frustrated and overwhelmed and sad at Christmas! A snow day has always been a great reason to day drink, not drink spiced apple juice while wrapping presents. 

It sure is pretty outside though….


32 comments

  1. Rob · December 6

    Is that your view? How beautiful. Where are you that it’s already snowing? And good for you being present wrapping presents. Good stuff, very uplifting for me

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Untipsyteacher · December 6

    So pretty!
    We had snow too!!
    Your vacation day sounds lovely!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 6

      It’s still snowing here, I may have to take another day off tomorrow! Hope you had a chance to enjoy the snow, even though it means that golf season is over for you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Untipsyteacher · December 6

        I used to ski, but haven’t for last 3 years.
        But we love hiking in snow!!
        xo

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · December 6

        Do you go snowshoeing? I just got into snowshoeing a couple of years ago, and snowmobiling. I have been ice fishing but it scares me so I try to politely decline invitations to that haha. Is there downhill skiing near mpls? Or did you go xcountry skiing?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. asobermiracle · December 7

    Here in North Carolina, we have cold rain. And more cold rain. But that’s a good thing, because it’s putting out the wild fires.
    I know what you mean when you say, “Who am I?” It’s like there’s a real person inside that is just waiting to get out. This person is organized! This person remembers things! This person thinks ahead! As an example, I now make my coffee the night before so that I can just push the button when I wake up. I would not have been capable of this kind of discipline and forethought while drinking. And for the first time in decades, I am sending Christmas cards. What could be next? Knitting?

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 7

      Oooo if you take up knitting could you make me a pair of slippers?! 😁 Hey I’m with you on the coffee! Isn’t it great how happy we can get over little things like that?

      Liked by 1 person

      • asobermiracle · December 7

        Yes, like I really like that bracelet on your wrist in your latest post. Maybe I can learn macrame, or whatever that is. ; )

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · December 7

        Thanks, I bought those from a little girl selling them, I wouldn’t know how to make the one but I think the brighter one with silver in it is just braided.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hurrahforcoffee · December 7

    I’m so jealous! I wish I could say being sober has translated to me having all my shit together for Christmas. I’m afraid I’m going to right there with men doing last minute shopping:) Oh well at least I’ll be able to drive myself. The view is spectacular! In England is usually snows in January rather than December. Sounds like you are having a lovely day dearest:) xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 7

      Oh hurrah, I’m far from having all my shit together for Christmas! Lol, my Christmas tree will probably still end up being hastily put up on the 23rd and I’ll still no doubt be out shopping on the 24th 😉
      We usually get snow late oct, early November so this is late for us! It usually lasts til March.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hurrahforcoffee · December 7

        🙂 You most centainly are more organised than I am. I didn’t even know what an ‘elf on the shelf’ is till i saw it on facebook! I need to get shoppin’!

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · December 7

        Hahaha thank goodness my kids are too old for that thing! Even sober I’m not organized enough to come up with something every night for that!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hurrahforcoffee · December 7

        Who came up with the elf anyway? It’s a cute idea but wow I think I have enough on my plate. xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · December 7

        Probably someone with no kids and no intention of ever using it, but who was sitting around with friends and said “heyyy you know what would be super funny? If people could scare their kids into behaving before Christmas by making them think that Santa was having one of his elves spy on them”

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Untipsyteacher · December 7

    I want to try snowshoeing! Yes, we have downhill ski areas, some right in the city! I hate cross country!! lol it’s like running!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 7

      I tried cross country once and found out I was far too uncoordinated for it. Some of your local rec departments may have snowshoes that are free or low cost to borrow! It’s a great way to try it out!

      Like

  6. dewyplace · December 8

    it is so pretty we don’t get snow here at all unless we go to the mountains and even then it’s yucky wet snow man made some of it.
    Christmas here is always hot as

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · December 8

      Can’t imagine a hot Christmas although I’d love to experience it one year. The closest I came was being in Vegas a week before.

      Liked by 1 person

      • dewyplace · December 8

        One Christmas it was 38C so roughly 100F but the water was still cold. I’m in Melbourne and it has to be hot for weeks before the water warms up at the beach

        Liked by 1 person

  7. beingmesober · December 13

    That is awesome! It is amazing how we love what we used to years ago and focus on the actual holiday and not the drink!! Good for you! Keep up the cheer and wrap on! Congrats on your 42 days!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

