Love affair

img_5430

My own house, before I moved in with my boyfriend a year ago, was filled with bits and pieces of handmade pottery that I bought at craft shows, art sales, in little stores etc. Bowls, vases, decorative pieces, basically anything that jumped out at me. Most of it got packed into boxes and never unpacked as my boyfriend would make a screwed up face full of disdain whenever I tried to put anything of mine out in “his” house. The unfairness of it, in my mind, was that shelves and cupboards were full of his ex wife’s stuff, almost as if he’s waiting for her to move back in and exclaim “Oh, you kept all my rubbermaid containers and my 200 coffee mugs that look exactly the same!”. I’m allowed one drawer in the dresser in the bedroom and half of the spare bedroom closet to put my clothes in. I have felt off balance, displaced and not at home since I moved in. When he went on a fishing trip for a few days I took the ugly lamp that was on the side table next to my side of the couch that matched the one on his side, moved it to the basement and replaced it with a Himalayan Salt lamp and some pics of my family. (FYI it is next to impossible to read by the light that a Himalayan Salt lamp throws off but there is absolutely no way that I’m admitting that to him haha). Over the past few weeks I have slowly put away some of the coffee mugs and replaced them with some of my  own (he doesn’t even drink coffee), and this past weekend I bought myself the mug in the picture from a local artist. I must have picked up and handled about 10 of her mugs to see how they fit in my hands. This one I fell in love with. It’s large and comfortable and the colours are a mix of beautiful earthy greens and blues. It has little moon designs engraved into it and when I hold it, I can rub my thumb over those designs and feel calm.

I think that I am so drawn to pottery because in my mind it is created lovingly. The time, the patience and love that goes into creating each unique piece – how can that piece not end up absorbing all of that positive energy?

15 comments

  1. Four Stars · November 21

    I love hand-made pottery too. I need to get my potters wheel out….

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · November 21

      The girl I bought it from said that she hand forms all her stuff- rolls them out with a rolling pin and then creates from that. I want to learn how to do this!! Or I could just keep supporting her passion as her work was all beautiful

      Like

  2. sauvignonblackout · November 21

    I love this post 🙂 I am getting mug-envy! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hurrahforcoffee · November 22

    It’s beautiful! I agree that objects can absorb and emit energy. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. audreycandoit · November 22

    Lovely mug, beautiful colors….so happy for you. You sound good. Keep cleaning out those cupboards, he’ll never notice…that’s what I’ve been doing with my hubs stuff…little by little…lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    • shehidbehindtheglass · November 22

      Thanks Audrey! My little local goodwill store will be getting a lot of donations over the next few months I suspect. ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Untipsyteacher · November 22

    We all need a place to call our own.
    I am glad you are creating that space for yourself.
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rob · November 23

    So, too, should the space you live in be created lovingly. The piece isn’t about the mug for me. You have written a much deeper truth here. Write On!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dewyplace · November 29

    I love handmade pieces..after living with a hoarder for more than 20 years slowly get rid of his stuff . Men they don’t tend to notice much 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · November 29

      Honestly, half of my stuff could be missing and I wouldn’t even notice for years if at all haha. Are you donating or selling anything or just slipping stuff into the trash? I was thinking of donating to the local thrift store in case he notices right away I can tell him if he really “needs” it he can go and buy it back 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • dewyplace · November 29

        Funny..I used to donate now I don’t as the y sell it or their staff gets the good stuff first. Now I list them on the notice board at my hidey hole (country town) for free or I donate them to a non profit group so they go to the people in need.
        What I do is slowly gather them up put them in the car.
        He was annoyed at me the other day for throwing away his teeth mould and teeth whitening treatment lol he told me he paid $300 for it the thing is he also told me they didn’t work so I assumed lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • shehidbehindtheglass · November 29

        lol re him being annoyed at the teeth whitening thing getting thrown out. Oh good idea to donate to non profit! I was going to look up women’s shelters in the area to see about donating to them as it’s lot of household stuff that would be great for someone starting over ie baking dishes, glasses, mugs, blankets etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      • dewyplace · November 29

        yes they’d appreciate it more. Lately thrift shops are run like businesses not really in the interests of the needy.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

