Run baby run

I will be the first one to admit it – mornings are far from my favourite time of the day. I have to set my alarm early enough that I can hit snooze at least twice. It’s not that I even go back to sleep after I hit snooze, I just lay there awake cursing the fact that I have to get up. If I ever have to get a normal job where I have to be at work at 8am or something, I will be screwed. I’ve always been in awe of people who bound out of bed first thing in the morning, go for a jog and start their day off full of energy. The thought of that was so completely foreign to me. The thought of exercising wasn’t foreign to me, just the thought of doing it at 5am or whatever ungodly time of day some people did it. I used to run quite a bit off and on in the evenings, either on my treadmill or outside, with wine in my water bottle of course, and a cigarette before and after. It was never a consistent every day type of thing because more often than not by the time I had TIME to run I was already too far into the wine to think that getting on a treadmill was an appealing idea at all. The last few days I have felt a little bit of energy returning and the “I should get out for a run, or get on the treadmill or something…” has crossed my mind a couple of times while curled up on the couch under a blanket, sipping tea and watching murder mystery shows. Didn’t happen though. This morning I woke up before my alarm (yuck) and checked my phone and read the comments to my post from yesterday, including one that suggested jogging etc., just as my alarm went off. Quick mental calculation – hitting snooze at least twice = 20 mins. I could get up and get my sorry ass on the treadmill for 20 minutes instead. I jumped out of bed, pulled on sweatpants, bra & shirt, grabbing my runners and got to the treadmill before I could make excuses not to. Poor boyfriend jumped out of bed right after me obviously thinking that something terrible was happening lol. Sometimes I feel bad about the stress that I put on his 50 yr old heart. Anyway.. I actually ran for most of the 20 minutes – not a fast run but a slower-paced-but-enough-to-sweat run. Drank water with lemon juice, made coffee, showered, dressed, coffee, packed lunch and ready to leave for work about 10 minutes earlier than normal. I was actually in a great mood on my commute to work too. Hmmm… maybe those early morning exercising fanatics have it all figured out after all. 😉

24 days woohoo!

7 comments

  1. ainsobriety · November 18

    Nice!

    Like

  2. Untipsyteacher · November 20

    Way to go!!
    I am s snoozer too, and I feel so much better when I don’t!
    xo
    wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. audreycandoit · November 21

    Go you!! And congrats on 24 days – that’s 3+ weeks – woot woot!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rob · November 24

    Keep at it! It will become a habit soon enough. Happy Thanksgiving

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

