And the 13th day shall fall on a Monday.

Day 13! The weather here was amazing on the weekend. Usually we’re cold and snowy and barreling full force into our 6 months of winter. This weekend was beautiful, sunny and warm and Saturday night the entire province was covered in smokey haze from everyone having bonfires while shouts of joy were heard all over “Can you believe it? This is NOVEMBER!” lol. I have put in a personal order for another weekend with the same type of weather next weekend because I was indoors for most of this last one, and at a hockey game drinking hot chocolate on Saturday night instead of outside at a bonfire.

Saturday morning I ran some errands and when I got home around lunch the boyfriend was on his way out to pick up something from a friend’s house. He asked me if I wanted to go. This friend quit drinking 3 months ago and is in AA so I was actually kind of excited about going -the first person in real life I can talk to who is going through this too. We got there and as soon as we got out of the truck he offered us a beer. My heart kind of sank a little bit, and I automatically assumed that maybe he had started drinking again. I declined, boyfriend accepted and the friend grabbed himself a pepsi. I realize that I’m only 13 days in (7 weeks since the start), but I honestly can’t see myself 3 months from now having wine on hand to offer to my friends who stop by. I feel that it would just make me… sad. I think that I’d just be thinking non-stop about the bottle of wine in my cupboard or fridge. I think I’d spend the entire visit staring at their wine glasses and not being able to focus on the conversation. Heaven forbid that there would be any wine left over because I’d have to pour it out right away. I have been ok-ish around people who are drinking, but so far I haven’t had to be in the comfort of my own home, in my favourite drinking place, with people who are drinking my favourite drink.

5 comments

  1. Deborah · November 7, 2016

    Congratulations on making it this far. Like you, I have quit many times, but for some reason I just cant seem to make it stick. So I will follow you and hope that we can both find the joy and clarity that others seem to experience living alcohol free. You sound so strong. Good for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · November 7, 2016

      Thanks! Good luck to you on your journey too and I hope that we are both able to find the joy and clarity that so many find in sobriety đŸ™‚

      Like

  2. onebottleoneglass · November 7, 2016

    Good for you, and for him! I only very recently found it okay to have alcohol in the house. I’m okay around other people, but when everyone would leave and my house was asleep. . . I’d obsess over it. Maybe in time, but certainly not today for you! Glad you had a great weekend, and congrats on day 13!

    Liked by 1 person

    • onebottleoneglass · November 7, 2016

      I wrote about it here: https://onebottleoneglass.wordpress.com/2016/09/19/day-19/

      It’s a long ass post, and I’m really mad at my husband in it, but in case you’re interested in reading ‘me’ at Day 19, versus Day 50-something, when I had 2 bottles of beer in my fridge for over a week! And just this weekend, I took a bottle of wine I’d gotten for an early bday present, poured 1/4 cup for a recipe, and send the rest of the bottle home with my mom. It gets easier, I promise!!

      Like

  3. Untipsyteacher · November 7, 2016

    We do not keep any alcohol in the house.
    It’s the only way I could do it, and I am still happy with that.

    We don’t entertain often, but when we do, I let my friends bring their own drinks, but we pour out any extra right away or send it home with them. (And we didn’t do this until I was ok with it.)

    xo
    Wendy

    Like

Leave a Reply

