The itchy scratchy show

I keep reading or hearing about how nice your skin gets after quitting drinking. WHEN DOES THIS HAPPEN? Seriously! My skin is going absolutely nutso right now – rashes and hives and patchy skin. I had much nicer skin when I was drunk all the time. Or maybe I was just looking at it through beer goggles lol. I have never been a big makeup wearer but I actually went and bought coverup to try to cover up some of the worse ones on my face – a lovely big hive above my lip, more on my cheeks, a patch of rough red skin by my eye. Yikes! 😮 I don’t even want to tell anyone that I quit drinking because they’ll probably think “and replaced it with what??!” I’ll be dragged off to rehab screaming “No, no you don’t understand, my skin is just mad at me!!” Never mind the fact that I can’t even wear deodorant right now because my armpits have exploded in massive angry rashes. I’m a mess, lol. (And I AM laughing about it, because it’s kind of funny in a ridiculous way).

Day 9. 😀

9 comments

  1. Hurrahforcoffee · November 3

    I’m still waiting for it to happen:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · November 3

      You’re about 5 months in, right?

      Like

      • Hurrahforcoffee · November 3

        Well this depends on if you start counting from day one when you lapse. I made the decision to stop and stopped on the 18th of May. Had two lapses in between so officially I should count from August the 3rd.

        Like

  2. sobersuitsme · November 3

    Oh honey, yes! I had itchy skin for about three weeks. I think it is our bodies trying to re-balance all the crap we were putting into it. Detoxing. Drink craploads of water! Flush it out is what I did. It didn’t stop the itching but I felt like I was doing something to flush it out “quicker”. It SUCKS. But still better than drinking. It will calm down. Consider it your bodies way of giving you the finger for all the abuse you gave it. That is the way I looked at it. I was like “go ahead body. you deserve to give me sh*t about how I treated you for years. I can handle this itchy business. Just not for too long.” Hang in there!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. shehidbehindtheglass · November 3

    Thanks! I thought that’s what it must be, but I can’t get over the intensity/severity of it 😦

    Like

  4. asobermiracle · November 4

    Your liver can’t get rid of toxins when you are drinking because it is constantly having to break down alcohol to save you from dying from the poison. When you stop, it can FINALLY begin to do its real job, and begins to get rid of the toxins it was forced to store while combatting the assault of alcohol. It was at war.

    It’s a wonder that we’re still alive, isn’t it? ; )

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Untipsyteacher · November 4

    It takes awhile.
    In fact, my skin is only now looking better.
    But I am old!
    LOL!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. moderndaygirlstuff · November 8

    Consider getting a colonic cleanse done… alcohol leaves a lot of yeast and toxins in your intestines that truly may never come out for a long long time… it could help clear things up for you and leave you feel refreshed and jumpstart you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

