Scratch & sniff (still 8 days)

I don’t know if it was from the smoking or from having my nose in a glass of alcohol all the time that dulled my sense of smell, but I have basically had zero sense of smell the past few years. I used to like smelling good, but the last time someone told me in a meeting that I smelled good I gave a bit of a cackle (yes, I do believe it was more of a cackle than a giggle unfortunately), and replied “Like what – sadness, stale wine and cigarettes?”. I was half joking on that one, because for all I knew that was exactly what I smelled like and she may have just really liked that certain odor. I’m on a mission though, to smell nice(r) lately. I even seem to be getting a little bit of my sense of smell back – I’ve noticed smells other than the dead skunk on the hwy or the particularly rank dog fart that my dog manages to silently surprise you with now and then. I ordered myself an grown up advent calendar full of lotions & girly stuff as I think that the holiday season will be a tough one for me on this journey. Having a nice little surprise every morning (or evening) – a little treat for myself and a nice smelling one at that – will be something to look forward to.

4 comments

  1. Untipsyteacher · November 2, 2016

    Funny, I never thought of smell!
    But I think you are right…my sense smell is better!
    (I’m the smelly one in my marriage!! LOL)
    xo
    Wendy
    Happy Day 8

    Liked by 1 person

  2. asobermiracle · November 3, 2016

    I lost most of my sense of smell as well, but what I can smell now is alcohol! I can instantly smell a red glass of wine across the table from me. Weird! I used to think that people were exaggerating when they said they could smell alcohol on someone, but now I know it’s true. So I was never really getting away with my wine-filled soda cups. And guess what else I Iearned — eating a bag of doritoes doesn’t cancel out the oder from the alcohol. All those wasted calories trying to disguise my drinking. : (

    Liked by 1 person

    • shehidbehindtheglass · November 3, 2016

      Oh I know! That has really surprised me actually. My boyfriend used to say “….because I can smell it on you!” quite a bit and I’d think “bullshiiiittttt…. I swilled water in my mouth on my way home and chewed gum to get the smell off my breath” lol, oh the things we learn ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

